CICADA 3301

On January 6th 2012, an image was uploaded to various image boards, possibly originating at the infamous /b/ board at 4chan.

3301

From what I understand each puzzle you solved led you to the next. This went on for about a month.

A second round began a year later on January 5th, 2013.

Again from what I understand, people are being recruited. But for what?  The puzzles focused heavily on data security, cryptography, and steganography. And I am told that some of the people who blogged about doing these tests went “silent” soon after.

So what is going on here?

I have blogged a little about “Catfish” “Alternate_Reality_Games” and other internet phenomenon that sometimes seem harmless but are more devious in outcome. Most do not believe this to be a hoax or game, so what is it then?

I admit that this is all new to me, I didn’t even know what 4 chan was. But I do now. And since this comes to me right at a time I have started my new little blog, well I have to know more.

The first was on a 6th and the second the 5th… January 4th is just a few days away. I guess I’ll be checking out 4 chan. Anyone else out there waiting on the 4th?

Check out http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cicada_3301 to start your own search.

What a great way to start off 2014!

Leave a Reply

