Fake

http://youtu.be/PURM3BfEP74 In honor of the retiring Motley Crue I posted the link above to one of their songs that fits this post. I’m listening to it now as I type this. So where was I? Last week, I was watching a rebroadcast of a 20/20 report called “Faking It”.  I wasn’t paying a lot of attention, but as it went through a quick outline about what they would be discussing, the segment “Warrior Eli” caught my eye. It was about a woman who had made a fake Facebook account for a whole fictitious family. The fake families posts were tragic, from the posts about their son Eli who had spent his young life battling different types of cancer to the shocking and sudden death of the mother in a car accident. Many who befriended them on Facebook were devastated when they read about the accident, but that would change to confusion once the truth started to come out. The whole thing was made up, the family and their story created by a woman who I guess was bored with her own life.  I thought this and the other stories on “fakers” might make a good post for my blog, it’s the kind of thing most of my posts center around. So I turned it up and began to watch, ready to take notes. Then the first segment began and I sat there in a kind of awkward moment. Call it deja vu, serendipity, or some other mystic power of consciousness nod, but I knew this story, I had even blogged about it. It was about a Long Island man named  Raymond Roth who one Summer, went out into the ocean and vanished. As it turns out he and his son had faked Raymond’s death for insurance. And although the segment ends with Raymond being caught and awaiting his sentence, I knew there was much more to this story, because Raymond Roth was someone I had found out about while looking up information for my LISK Blog. I had been trying to find out information about Natasha Jugo, a girl who seemed to have just walked into the ocean near where LISK victims were found and disappear. Natasha’s body has since been found and opens up so many more questions to what is going on in Long Island. But back when I found an article on Raymond Roth faking his death, she was still missing, and finding an article about a local man doing exactly what was believed Natasha had done struck me odd. So I googled the name Raymond Roth and saw he had just recently made the news again. Here’s the first article I found: http://newyork.cbslocal.com/2013/03/21/l-i-man-accused-of-faking-his-own-death-due-in-court/ This article is from March 21st 2013, it says that Raymond was facing a little time and a healthy fine for his “Fake Death” and was due back in court May 21st. So what did Raymond decide to do while he awaited his sentencing? Lay low? maybe try to run back to Florida and hide again? Well according to this next article I found, Raymond went right out after that court appearance on 3-21-13 and tried to kidnap someone!?! chttp://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/03/28/raymond-roth-man-who-faked-drowning-arrested-impersonating-officer_n_2972845.html What struck me most when I found this article was that no one else had mentioned it yet. I mean at this time people were posting as screen names from utopia guide and others were commenting about a group of men called the CCC, why no mention of a local man who faked his own suicide off the beaches where these bodies were found and then was arrested for impersonating an officer and attempted kidnapping. Shouldn’t there have been some fake “Raymond” screen name or something popping up in the comments. Shouldn’t someone mention it at least. But no one did, I had found it on my own as I explained. When I bought the whole thing up in my blog, no one said much about it. Some one said that Raymond Roth was too disorganized to be involved in the LISK murders. I think that was the general idea, and no one seemed to think Raymond was worth me even bringing up. This confused me, people put their own ex husbands into this, a local guy who killed himself was thrown into it, someone who once was working with families was later turned on and placed into the suspect pool, many Oak Beach neighbors were brought into the gossiping comments, and bloggers and commenters were also called out in crazy lists of POIs. And yet this guy, this Raymond Roth was not even considered to be connected. Maybe he was part of the CCC or posted on Utopia Guide, or maybe he had been to one of Brewer’s parties, or played poker with the Doc. I mean I could not understand why no one went to him at all. But I wrote it off as just one of the crazy things in this case and its ripples into social media that didn’t make sense. And then last week while I was staying away from my laptop for a little while trying to figure out what I wanted to do with my LISK Blog, this  episode of 20/20 was on the screen in front of me with the story of a Long Island man who tried to fake his own death. Everything from the case and the blogs went rushing through my head. Why was this case so confusing, and why were so many alright with keeping it that way? I looked over at my new copy of “Lost Girls” and decided it was time I tried to understand the case better. Not the games, but the actual case. I knew a little about the case but most of that was about the night Shannan disappeared and all that came after. I picked up the book and read it. And that is where we will stop, at least here. This needs to continue back on the LISK blog: http://liskdotcom.wordpress.com/2014/02/09/lost-girls/ I know why I was first drawn to this case, I know why I first decided to blog about the things I read on LISK.com and Catching LISK, but there is something else that keeps me involved here. Something I can’t quite explain. For those interested in the 20/20 “Faking It” episode here is a link: http://abcnews.go.com/blogs/headlines/2013/01/faking-it-elaborate-fakes-secret-lives-and-big-fat-lies-on-2020/

3 thoughts on “Fake

  1. Zero, i believe we had discussed this on your LISK blog, as a matter of fact, wasn’t it you who said we should all be taking a closer look?? I believe we should. Interesting to note, DPH and her “team” never gave this guy so much as a one sentence post…Know why rite? has NO relation to her ex. (shit, hope i didnt just give her an idea!!)..if i was her, to quote her own words, she should “buckle up”. joker. I’ll never be able to relate to someone such as her, using this case as a forum to gain sympathy for her divorce struggles. i say this honestly..so sick, such narcissism..EVIL

    The woman mentioned above, with the fake FB, reminds me of someone suffering something similar to Munchhausen Syndrome by Proxy (i’d love MD Rice’s thoughts)…i have no doubt cases like this will become much more prevalent, don’t you think? We’ve probably already witnessed this to one degree or another already, feel me??

  2. Pingback: Lost Girls | LISK.com

  3. Munchhausen Syndrome by Proxy

    That means you have a SICK obsession for ATTENTION and SYMPATHY!! EVEN when you know its hurting those you love…that is TRULY sick!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

