25 Days Of Christmas Music: Day Eight

So our parents influence our early music interest, if you had older siblings, they too had an impact on your musical taste at some point, but it is our peers that will turn us on to what we really want to listen to. In fourth grade, my best friend Jeremy turned me on to Dr. Demento. Now this isn’t the time or place to talk about my fourth grade best friend Jeremy, whose dad had been a roadie for bands like Black Sabbath and Led Zeppelin (bands that were unknown to me at the time), Jeremy, whose parents were hippies with garbage bags of home-grown marijuana in their room (I know this because Jeremy would snatch some every once in a while) Jeremy who is very much responsible for sending a 4th grade zero on his way to becoming what he is today and therefore must be blogged about eventually, but not now. Nor is this the post where I should go on about Dr. Demento and the countless Sundays I would spend in front of the radio listening to the funniest, grossest and sometimes most controversal things this fourth grader had ever heard. Though I do need to do a post on the Dr. D and all those hours I spent listening to his show ay some point as well.

This is supposed to be 25 simple posts of Christmas songs… but you all know how I wander… so let’s just say, in fourth grade I had a good friend named Jeremy who showed me the radio program Dr. Demento, and quite a few of the Christmas songs I will be posting here, I first heard on Dr. Demento.

In fact it’s where I first heard Bob Rivers and Twisted Radio (they did the song “I Am Santa Claus” I posted on day 4) A tragic song about chimneys and Christmas, but it wasn’t till years later I knew the song was by them. In fact when I bought the few Bob Rivers CDs, I didn’t know this earlier song, was on there. Does that ever happen to you? You buy an album for a certain song, don’t really listen to the whole album, and then later you are looking for another song you like but don’t know who it is, and you find out not only do you know the group, but you have the album it’s on. I love when that happens. Well in this case, I had looked up a silly Christmas song I had heard on Dr. Demento as a kid and realized it was the same people who did “I Am Santa Claus”. So I grabbed their CDs, and sure enough there was that silly old “Chimney Song”.

So then today I went and found a video for it so I could post it here as the eighth chain “link”. Another cute cartoon video someone made on You Tube.

Sing Along:

                                            The Chimney Song

There’s something stuck up in the chimney and I don’t know what it is
But it’s been there all night long
Well, I waited up for Santa all Christmas night
But he never came and it don’t seem right

That there’s something in the chimney and it doesn’t make a sound
But I wish you Merry Christmas

There’s something stuck up in the chimney and I don’t know what it is
But it’s been there all week long
Well, the dog keeps barking up the chimney flue
And we don’t know what we’re going to do

‘Cause there’s something in the chimney and it doesn’t move around
And it’s been a week since Christmas

There’s something stuck up in the chimney and I don’t know what it is
But it’s been there all month long
Well, it’s jammed up tight above the fireplace
Now the house smells funny, such a big disgrace

That there’s something in the chimney and it doesn’t talk at all
And it’s been there since last Christmas

There’s something stuck up in the chimney and I don’t know what it is
But it’s been there all year long
I’ll been waiting up for Santa like I did last year
But my brother says, “He’s already here”

And he’s stuck up in the chimney
And he doesn’t say a word
And he’ll be there every Christmas
And we’ll have him every Christmas

 

One thought on “25 Days Of Christmas Music: Day Eight

Leave a Reply

