25 Days Of Christmas Music: Day Sixteen

Day 16 is another 2 for Tuesday… and it’s a cold one!

Sing Along:

                     Baby, It’s Cold Outside

I really can’t stay – Baby it’s cold outside
I’ve got to go away – Baby it’s cold outside
This evening has been – Been hoping that you’d drop in
So very nice – I’ll hold your hands, they’re just like ice

My mother will start to worry – Beautiful, what’s your hurry?
Father will be pacing the floor – Listen to the fireplace roar
So really I’d better scurry – Beautiful, please don’t hurry
Maybe just a half a drink more – Put some records on while I pour

The neighbors might think – Baby, it’s bad out there
Say, what’s in this drink? – No cabs to be had out there
I wish I knew how – Your eyes are like starlight now
To break this spell – I’ll take your hat, your hair looks swell

I ought to say no, no, no – Mind if I move in closer?
At least I’m gonna say that I tried – What’s the sense in hurting my pride?
I really can’t stay – Baby don’t hold out
Ah, but it’s cold outside

I’ve got to get home – Oh, baby, you’ll freeze out there
Say, lend me your coat – It’s up to your knees out there
You’ve really been grand – Thrill when you touch my hand
Why don’t you see – How can you do this thing to me?

There’s bound to be talk tomorrow – Think of my life long sorrow
At least there will be plenty implied – If you caught pneumonia and died
I really can’t stay – Get over that hold out
Ah, but it’s cold outside
Oh, baby, it’s cold outside
Oh, baby, it’s cold outside

Before I get to the second song I’d like to mention all the comments on that YouTube video arguing over who is singing that version. Seems to be a YouTube mystery, lol… it sounded like Bing Crosby and Doris Day to me… but after looking up and listening to several versions, some that say are by Bing and Doris and some that say they are by Johnny Mercer and Margaret Whiting I have to admit, I have no idea which is which… lol.

It’s a nice song though right? A holiday classic… yea you all know where I’m going. Growing up I definitely thought, wow, that Bing… or was it Johnny, he sure is sly…

Yes, reading between the lines of this one puts us into areas not so Christmas like… I mean am I the only one who is worried about Doris… or Margaret?

Well, I was watching comedy central the other night and their “All-Star Non-Denominational Christmas Special” was on. Key & Peele seemed to hit what I’m getting at, right on the head:

Sing Along:

                           Just Stay For The Night

Would you look at the time – You Should just stay here for the night

I’ve had too much wine – You can leave at first light

It isn’t that far – Baby just stay where you are

Back to my place – You can’t escape from my embrace

I really had a nice time – Let me just refill that wine

I really need to say goodbye – I would love to see you try

Please unlock this door – It’s locked from the outside

Look I really have to go – No you really have to stay

Hey no means no – That’s what they all say

Your hurting my arm – I won’t cause you any harm

Let go of me –  We can make this hard or easy

A woman always comes prepared – Ohh I’m really scared

I said this is not what I want – Why do you have to be such a

I know self-defense – I dare you to try it

I don’t want to fight – Bitch you are mine tonight

(FIGHTING)

Please just go away – I thought you wanted me to stay

I just changed my mind – I think I’ll just stay and unwind

How did this all switch – Now you are my bitch

Please just be kind tonight  – Now you are mine tonight

 

Exactly what I meant… I mean the song is a Christmas Date Rape in progress…

Oh the things we all find humorous…

And if you think that’s funny, you should check out South Park’s “Washington Redskins Go Fuck Yourself Holiday Special”.  Bill Cosby and Taylor Swift find themselves in the same winter time predicament.

Happy Holidays!

One thought on “25 Days Of Christmas Music: Day Sixteen

  1. I bet it was kinda cool in the ‘good old days’…im a girly girl at heart, just thinkin how it might feel to get all glamalicious on a Friday night..hmmmm

Leave a Reply

