25 Days Of Christmas Music: Day Twenty Two

There was another song on that “Peter, Paul, and Mommy” album that was kinda Christmasy, though the song isn’t really about Christmas… it’s called “The Marvelous Toy”… I liked this song as a kid, and loved it once I had kids of my own. The song represented the album in a way… my parents shared it with me as a young child, and I played it for my children as well. I will be sure they each have a copy of it to play for their kids and so the circle becomes a cycle… and a good one.

While searching Christmas songs/videos I came across another cute little cartoon someone made. Although it is not the version I know of the song by Peter, Paul, and Mary… the video does make it a Christmas Song and therefore playable here on the 25 Days Of Christmas Music:

Sing Along:

               The Marvelous Toy

When I was just a wee little lad
Full of health and joy
My father homeward came one night
And gave to me a toy

A wonder to behold it was
With many colors bright
And the moment I laid eyes on it
It became my heart’s delight

It went “Zip” when it moved
And “Bop” when it stopped
And “Whirrr” when it stood still
I never knew just what it was and I guess I never will

The first time that I picked it up
I had a big surprise
‘Cause right on the bottom were two big buttons
That looked like big green eyes

I first pushed one and then the other
Then I twisted its lid
And when I set it down again
Here is what it did

It went “Zip” when it moved
And “Bop” when it stopped
And “Whirrr” when it stood still
I never knew just what it was and I guess I never will

It first marched left and then marched right
Then marched under a chair
And when I looked where it had gone
It wasn’t even there

I started to cry, but my daddy laughed
‘Cause he knew that I would find
When I turned around my marvelous toy
Would be chugging from behind

“Zip” when it moved
And “Bop” when it stopped
And “Whirrr” when it stood still
I never knew just what it was and I guess I never will

Whirr, whirr, whirr

The years have gone by too quickly it seems
I have my own little boy
And yesterday I gave to him
My marvelous little toy

His eyes nearly popped right out of his head
And he gave a squeal of glee
Neither one of us knows just what it is
But he loves it just like me

It still goes “Zip” when it moves
And “Bop” when it stops
And “Whirrr” when it standstill
I never knew just what it was and I guess I never will

 

2 thoughts on “25 Days Of Christmas Music: Day Twenty Two

Leave a Reply

