All Bad Things Must Come To An End

Earlier this year I mentioned my favorite band of all time was doing a final tour. Motley Crue would be no more. Any one who knows me, knows that calling Motley Crue my favorite band is quite an understatement. As Dorothy has pointed out, I obsess on things. Nothing shows that more than my obsession with Motley Crue. And it all started when a girl wrote something on the hand ball wall.
The year was 1983. I was in 7th grade. And for those of you that don’t know what a hand ball wall is, it’s just that, a big wall that you played handball on with a big red rubber ball. It was on one of these walls that my then girl friend wrote down:

crue

I had no idea what she had just written down and asked her, “What’s a motley crue?” I pronounced it “mote-lee cru”. She laughed, corrected me, and told me it was a new group.

Not long after that I saw this video:

So that was Motley Crue. It was like nothing I had seen before. I was listening to things like Billy Idol (my first idol before Nikki took his place). I also had a couple AC DC albums, but this seemed to take the whole rock/punk/pop sound to a whole new level for me.

A year later Shout At The Devil would come out and my next look at Motley Crue:

I saw this video and that was it, Motley Crue was my favorite band, and it hasn’t changed since then. Sure other bands have come along and sat along the top, Guns N Roses, NOFX, Marylin Manson. Lots of good bands that I love and count as my favorites. But no one tops Nikki Sixx, Tommy Lee, Mick Mars, and Vince Neil.

Motley Crue was my first concert. 1985 on their Theater Of Pain tour. And in the years since I was lucky enough to see them live 10 times at last count. Last summer I even got to go to San Diego and see one of the shows in the final tour:

Yes, I was there, I saw this show live. It was such a great show and I had one of the best times ever. Just like all the other times I saw Motley Crue, great show, great time, and quite a few interesting tales.

So in honor of the best band ever’s last show coming up on New Years Eve, I thought I’d tell my stories of all the Motley Crue shows I’ve been to that led up to this final show.

This is gonna be a fun trip down memory lane for me, hope others enjoy it too!

 

 

Leave a Reply

