3 Of The Best Albums Of 2016

#Three

First let me say, the title reads “3 Of The Best” not “The 3 Best”. So don’t give me any grief about there being better albums last year, maybe there were. I’ve yet to hear the new Sixx A.M. album (hoping to get it for Christmas) and I’m sure  that will be at the top of my list. Also not everyone has the same taste in music… Dorothy obviously hates my taste in music… too angry for her. Still these 3 albums will be hard to beat in my opinion.

So a little while back Sassy (for new readers: that’s my wife), came home and told me she got me a present. Before she had went out I had mentioned I needed to head to the record store because there several new albums out I needed to pick up, so I knew she got me an album.

I sat there all excited as she reached in to a bag and pulled out the new Blink 182 CD. Fuck yea!  I had really been waiting for that one. Then she said, “Wait, there’s more”.  And she reached in and pulled out the new Green Day CD. Sweet! Another one I wanted! But she wasn’t done… she reached in and pulled out a third CD (my baby knows me so well), Weezer! Oh hell yea! 3 new CDs from 3 of my favorite bands. I was set!

And can I tell you they did not disappoint. All three albums kick ass and show just why these 3 bands are 3 of the best still out there making albums.

Since I have been listening to them over and over for the past few months I thought I’d go over them all for all of you.

You’re welcome. LOL.

So as I have said before, “The Music Album” is one of the many things that has been screwed up by the internet. Music is now made in single tracks to be collected off YouTube  or other such places. Don’t get me wrong, radio always made sure the single was an important part of music. Many people bought albums for just one song they heard off the radio and I can tell you from experience of working at record stores in the 90’s that lots of people went looking for the “cassette single” never realizing how good the whole album was and therefore missing out on great songs. A good example of this is Offspring’s “Come Out And Play”. Everyone came in looking for that single not realizing how great an album “Smash” was/is.  I was always a whole album kind of guy. I liked (still like) to put the album on, listen to it from beginning to end and see where the artist can take me. But the internet killed the album all together. Now there aren’t many albums being made that are worth buying… the single has found its true home on the internet. songs are made for the download numbers… and albums on a whole seem to be less important… or not important at all.

And this is why I was so glad these 3 albums were ALBUMS. I can put them on and off I went. It definitely helped that California was a running theme on a few of them. You know I love my California. Which brings us to the first album, Blink 182: California:

blin-182

I heard the first single, “She’s Out Of Her Mind” on the radio. And I like it, but it sounded like a younger Blink 182, and I was afraid the album would try to hard to be like they are still a high school pop-punk band instead of the growing sound that they had matured into with each album. Plus I felt the song was missing Tom. I think that was my worst fear, that without Tom it just wouldn’t sound like Blink 182. I mean other than Boxcar Racer, I wasnt a big fan of their solo stuff. I like Mark and Tom harmonizing together with Travis pounding away on the drums. The 3 of them together made the sound of Blink 182 (I know Travis wasn’t there for the early albums, and I do love those albums too maybe even more… but for argument’s sake and the sake of this blog, the 3 of them make the sound).

I was worried for nothing, the album works on all aspects for me. It sounds great, lyrics are good, and the concept well, California… it don’t get any better.

Here;s a track list. The whole album is great, but I put 3 stars next to my favorite tracks:

1.*** “Cynical” 1:55
2. Bored to Death 3:55
3.** She’s Out of Her Mind 2:42
4.*** “Los Angeles” 3:03
5. “Sober”
2:59
6. “Built This Pool” 0:16
7.*** “No Future” 3:45
8.*** “Home Is Such a Lonely Place”
3:21
9.*** “Kings of the Weekend”
  • Hoppus
  • Barker
  • Skiba
  • Feldmann
  • Hodges
2:56
10. “Teenage Satellites”
  • Hoppus
  • Barker
  • Skiba
  • Feldmann
  • Hodges
3:11
11. “Left Alone” 3:09
12.*** “Rabbit Hole” 2:35
13.*** “San Diego”
  • Hoppus
  • Barker
  • Skiba
  • Feldmann
  • Stump
3:12
14. “The Only Thing That Matters” 1:57
15.*** “California”
3:10
16. “Brohemian Rhapsody” 0:30

With song titles like “Los Angles”,  “San Diego”. and “California” how can you not love it? I will admit, there are quite a few songs where I wish I could have heard with Tom, but even the single grew on me. In all honesty this album is the best to expect from Blink 182 after all these years, meaning it stands up with all the rest. With or without Tom.

I’m gonna play one song from each album (so we end up with 3 songs… duh). The one I chose from this album needs no explanation:

Now on to Green Day’s Revolution Radio:

green-day

1. “Somewhere Now” 4:08
2. Bang Bang 3:25
3. *** “Revolution Radio” 3:00
4.*** “Say Goodbye” 3:39
5.*** “Outlaws” 5:02
6. “Bouncing Off the Wall” 2:40
7.*** Still Breathing 3:44
8.*** “Youngblood” 2:32
9. “Too Dumb to Die” 3:23
10. “Troubled Times” 3:04
11.*** “Forever Now”

  • I. “I’m Freaking Out”
  • II. “A Better Way to Die”
  • III. “Somewhere (Reprise)”
6:52

  • 1:57
  • 1:47
  • 3:08
12. “Ordinary World” (lyrics and music by Billie Joe Armstrong) 3:00

If you like Green Day you should like this album. It’s a little like the rock opera’s American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown. Though I found it more like their last 3 albums ¡Uno!¡Dos!, and ¡Tré! Point is, it’s all Green Day. The other 2 albums were easier to choose what songs to play. This one I had I debated on. I decided on the song that sounded the least like Green Day. I kept finding myself coming back to it. I get a lot from this song. I hope some of you will as well:

I saved the best for last. The new self titled Weezer album.

Weezer had made 3 other self titled albums. Each one would become known by the color of the album cover. Blue, Green, and Red. Each of these are fucking awesome. Blue and Red are masterpieces and 2 of my favorite albums. The color of this album (the band on the beach, so you know where this is going) is mostly white, therefore earning the name White Album.  Which just happens to be the name of one of the biggest masterpieces of all time.So this album had a lot to live up to:

weezer

My favorite place! Let’s look at the track list:

1.*** “California Kids” Rivers Cuomo, Dan Wilson 3:25
2.*** “Wind in Our Sail” Cuomo, Scott Chesak, Ryan Spraker 2:53
3.*** Thank God for Girls Cuomo, Alex Goose, Michael Balzer, Alex Balzer, Bill Petti 3:30
4.*** “(Girl We Got A) Good Thing” Cuomo 3:25
5.*** Do You Wanna Get High? Cuomo 3:27
6.*** King of the World Cuomo, Jarrad Kritzstein 3:24
7.*** “Summer Elaine and Drunk Dori” Cuomo 3:25
8.*** “L.A. Girlz” Cuomo, Brian Bell, Luther Russell 3:29
9.*** “Jacked Up” Cuomo, Jonathan Coffer, Hugh Pescod 2:53
10.*** “Endless Bummer” Cuomo, Bell, Russell 4:14

I’m not saying this album should be compared to the other White Album. I’m not even saying it’s the best Weezer album (though it’s up there). All I’m saying is as soon as I heard that first song, I was hooked. And the rest of the album took me on a journey that only the best albums can do. This album made me want to write this post.

Before I leave you with that opening track, let me just say, I was once a “California Kid”and this song gets put on repeat a lot! I’ll always be a Californian, and I know Vegas isn’t that far from my true home… but sometimes the desert seems like the furthest place from those California beaches I grew up on. As for the kid thing… I know I’m a long way from there, but I’ll always be a kid at heart.

At the end of the day (have I ever mentioned how much I hate when people say that) if we all find ourselves on a sinking ship… head to California… I’ll meet you at the beach… I’ll show ya the sunshine.

AUTHORS NOTE: this Weezer video is actually the third of a somewhat trilogy. To see the other 2 videos, go to the ZW Facebook.

https://www.facebook.com/zerosworld/

6 thoughts on “3 Of The Best Albums Of 2016

  1. LOVE THIS post. Apparently we have the EXACT same taste in awesome music. I’m also a big fan of Bush, Foo Fighters, Candlebox, Tool, Live, STP and Collective Soul. I also enjoy Breaking Benjamin, Fuel, Creed, Staind as well.

  2. Sassy ROCKS! My nickname growing up was Sissy, because I was the baby sister. 😂 Maybe we’re twins lol.

    Merry Christmas, friends. I hope this holiday brings you love, joy and peace.

    Has anyone heard from Annie? I haven’t seen her around in a while.

    • I just read this to my wife… the twin part is very funny for a few different reasons. After i read it she said, she was also called sissy growing up, by her sister and grandma.

Leave a Reply

